Logan Square

Today I walked from Ukrainian Village to Logan Square because the nearest post office was there and I had to get another passport. I knew I couldn’t let the allure of tacos and used cars and lottery tickets and advertisements for Old Style beer that line Western St. distract me from my goal.

After I filled all the paperwork out and paid the $100 to get a passport, (I can’t believe this- in 2001 it was only $55 for ten years of freedom!) I decided to get some food. At the post office, the rush of spending all that money made me feel slightly ill, but eventually the cold (and all the taco places) made me hungry.

I ate at Taqueria Moran.(Yelp says it’s in Bucktown, Google Maps says it’s in Logan Square. Whatever. The food was so delicious!

Before I even ordered, all this was put on the table.
Before I even ordered, all this was put on the table.
How many pickled carrots and califlower does a person need?
How many pickled carrots and califlower does a person need?
This knife could be used by cowboys
This knife could be used by cowboys

The salsa-looking stuff and zanahorias were pickled. Strange. I’ve had that before, but wasn’t ready for the sourness. The salsa verde was a waste of time and space.

But oh, man, the sope!

Pollo destrozado con mole y un taco con chorizo
Pollo destrozado con mole y un taco con chorizo

Next to the fruteria/grocery store where I got some candy.

The colors of the packaging scream Orgullo Mexicano like the local radio station 105.1FM.
The colors of the packaging scream Orgullo Mexicano! like the local radio station 105.1FM.
Dulce Mix!
Varitas Magicas is an impossible to put in your mouth cream soda tasting sucker, Bocadin is a wafer thing with something that thinks it’s chocolate covering the outside, De La Rosa is nuez (nougat but powdery) and Pulparindo says it’s a carmel filled with ‘Chamdy’ flavor. We’ll see.

Shedd’s Aquarium is free this week, as is Adler Planetarium, the Museum of Science and Industry is free all January, and the Field Museum is free the second Monday of every month. Chinese New Year is soon approaching.

Leave a Reply

