Chinatown

was cold.

Nee-How South Side
Nee-How South Side
So sad
So sad

I felt horrible looking at the poor lobster and crab in the tank, but had already walked out of another restaurant because there were children in it, and had no desire to go back out into the cold. Does this mean that I hate children more than I love animals?

Separated from the lobster.  Do they fight?
Separated from the lobster. Do they fight?

I went to Chinatown on a freezing cold day with the intention of strolling around, eating a cheap lunch and trying to imagine living in China. But due to someone having a heart attack or jumping in front of a train or a child getting stuck in the doors, the train got me there about an hour later than I expected.

Fried salt and pepper squid
Fried salt and pepper squid

The food was okay. I always try to get something new wherever I go, and sometimes I am disappointed. If I would have stayed at the restaurant with the kids, I could have had a jellyfish appetizer.

The restaurant was empty, so I ate and watched Chinese TV. There was a young lady wearing an evening gown and a tiara telling us about some current events…(maybe?), a travel show called “In Search of Travel Wonders” about Australia filmed in 2002, and a soap opera-ish show in some tonal Asian language I couldn’t understand with Chinese subtitles. Did they have the subtitles on because the show was in a different dialect? There was also a commercial with a tree/Ent thing doing aerial acrobatics like Spiderman through the city. The Ent-thing actually had some of the same moves. What could they possibly have been selling?

Only Chinese speaking employees must wash hands
Only Chinese speaking employees must wash hands

Feeling sufficiently disoriented, I then focused on eating as much as I could and went out again into the cold cold weather.

One dollar=huge bag of win
One dollar=huge bag of win

I got a huge bag of (broken) fortune cookies for one dollar!

Eating soup will be fun now that I have this spoon
Eating soup will be fun now that I have this spoon

It was really cold so I ducked into a few souvenir shops.

Seriously, Buddah or Satan?
Seriously, Buddah or Satan?
I was born under the sign of the CHOOK.

This lamp post had notices all in Chinese characters.

All these postings use Chinese characters
In Chinatown this is how you find your lost cat.

When it’s warmer, I’m definitely going back.

Leave a Reply

