Wearing out the daypass

I cannot go anywhere without a definite plan.

Because I end up wasting hours getting lost,

Why would I ever come here?
Why would I ever come here?

get frustrated that I’m lost, and when I finally arrive at my destination I’m unable to enjoy it completely.

This is a post about things that didn’t happen.  I did not find Barnes and Noble within two hours of being downtown, maintain a reasonable temperature of my extremities, do a decent tour of Andersonville,  or find my way around Boystown.

I went to Devon Street and bought some fried paneer, then to Clark Street in the Andersonville stretch, but no restaurant seemed appealing enough to get off the bus and brave the cold. The deal with Andersonville is that it’s mostly chain free, but nothing looked good enough/not cheesy to tempt me.

I got off the bus at Roscoe Street in Boystown, hoping to go to Roscoe’s, because gay karaoke is the best karaoke, but no one seemed to know where it was or just wouldn’t tell me… maybe because it’s for gay men only… or my paranoia knows no bounds.

So instead I got back on the bus and went to Havana Libre on Chicago and Noble.

Warm feelings and fried things
Warm feelings and fried things
It's winter outside, but in Cuba the weather is good for plants.  And me.
It’s winter outside, but in Cuba the weather is good for plants. And me.

So, full of Cuban food, I took pictures of other Spanish language things.  Because even if I have accomplished almost nothing that I intended to accomplish that day, I know I will still get a thrill  out of bilingual signs, and the satisfaction that my slight bilingualism gives me makes up for a day full of loose and fail.

Weird, because usually it's EN ESPANOL
Weird, because usually it’s EN ESPANOL
We get two doors in Spanish
We get two doors in Spanish

This is weird to me.

It says in English: PRESS HERE TO OPEN THE DOOR.

And in Spanish: TOUCH/PRESS HERE TO OPEN THE DOORS.

Why do they acknowledge the two doors in Spanish but not in English? Why do English speakers only get one door?

This is just another example of the prejudice against speakers of both English and Spanish who refuse to convert to Spanglish.

One thought on “Wearing out the daypass

Leave a Reply

