Music and wind and Mexican

I volunteered at the CSO’s subscription renewal table and got to see Stravinsky performed.  It was exciting- I haven’t seen a live performance of classical music since before I moved to Chi-town, and I felt like a little kid.

No photography was allowed inside the concert hall, so a picture of a picture will have to do.
No photography was allowed inside the concert hall, so a picture of a picture will have to do.

First I wandered around downtown and found Intelligentsia coffee.  But it was full of chatty people, so I moved on to the slightly less full but considerably more quiet Starbucks.

I had just found this blog called “Stuff White People Like.” My plan was to sit in a coffee shop for a few hours, writing in my moleskine notebook about possible places to find alternative income and thinking of story ideas to pitch, but felt too white. So instead of using my moleskine, I sat in front of a different notebook and zoned out for a while.

I need to face it. I am white. And live in Wicker Park- the epicenter of pretense, hipster values, and girls with bangs.

The only non-white thing I did was eat Mexican food at La Cocina on Jackson downtown. And I spoke Spanglish with the requisite amount of awkwardness.

Mexican burritos are delicious
Mexican burritos are delicious
Leave a Reply

