Legs and lungs hurt more than boobs

Have been running for a week now. I can actually run two miles, and wanted to go for a third without stopping, but don’t want to get carried away and hurt myself like I’ve done every other single time I’ve taken up running.

To start training for a half marathon, everyone I’ve talked to and everything I’ve read says you must be able to run three miles. So tomorrow I’ll try harder. Runner’s World says I should probably run something shorter to get used to racing. Which is why I’m considering the Shamrock Shuffle.

My body remembers what it was like to move. I’ve missed sweating all over myself more than I knew. And looking at all the houses that have nothing to do with their neighbors stylistically is a great bonus for trotting through the neighborhood. I want running to be part of my identity. I want to earn a new pair of running shoes.

Leave a Reply

