Weight loss for the ignorant

I tried to make potato soup yesterday, ended up with a bowl full of stuff the consistency of snot. This is what happens when you whip potatoes.

I am used to my own bad cooking, so I ate it anyway.

Cooking for myself is now a part of my weight loss strategy.  Not because the alternative is going out for dinner and restaurant portions are large and full of fat and sugar.  It’s that my cooking is so bad that I won’t eat too much- just enough to live.  I’ve made myself violently ill before.

I live with two men who cook very well, so I think I’ve gotten worse as a cook .

This is one of the men

This is the right way to make potato soup:

Saute garlic and onions for a few minutes. Add water and chunks of potato, boil it for about 20 minutes.  The potatoes will cook down and everything will mingle together.  Oh, and leeks go in there too at some point.  Give it one quick second in the blender.  Unless you want snot soup.  Voila.

Leave a Reply

