Art and Business: Thesis, Antithesis, Synthesis

Being in two very distinct industries is a great way to stay balanced?  Maybe not.  I had a gig at a painting class today, and all I could do was think about my other job. I still did a good job with modeling- same as ever.  But my focus was off.

My friend Sara, a teacher, falls into teacher mode outside of the classroom.  She loves teaching; it’s her life; she’s wanted to teach for a long time. We’ve known each other a long time and it’s weird to see her brain change over the years into teacher brain.  It must be hard talking to kids all day and then transitioning to dealing with adults that she’s not in charge of.

I’m still working on switching between two states of being- artist and business person. Maybe the answer is fusion.  I use my business skills to get more gigs modeling, and I use my photography/artistic sensibility to represent goods and services my business provides to clients.

I just can’t do one or the other.

Leave a Reply

