Running with Dave Mustaine

I just ran 10 miles. You know, whatever. Nothing’s bleeding, which is semi-disappointing.

However, I realized that the longest I’ve ever run is 13.1 miles, and that the 10 miles wasn’t that bad. Yes, it was challenging, but I’ve conquered  the psychological battle of long distances.

When I started running today, I found myself dreading messing up (walking) and felt myself falter. But I scoffed at those thoughts (because I’ve had them before and know they lead nowhere) and focused on Dave Mustaine shredding.

I picture the whole band playing behind me as I run. Dave and I ran up through Humboldt, west Bucktown (heh), Roscoe Village, up to Lincoln Square, back down through Lakeview, Wicker Park and finally, back home to the Uke.

Someone who had run three marathons told me that she draws energy from the spectators, or even nature, for a psychological boost to keep her energy up. That makes a lot of sense to me. It’s easier for some reason to run along main streets with people around, and with peppy music in my ears.

Ke$ha and other party music doesn’t motivate me to train (because she just sings about being wasted all the time- not conducive to getting fit and feeling awesome).

Dance-y music that I do like: LMFAO’s Sexy and I Know It

and Psy’s Gungdam Style

make me laugh and make me glad I’m running. But my favorite buddy is Dave Mustaine. He’s got a massive catalogue, and amazing skills that inspire me to be the best I can be.

Leave a Reply

